Chambers of notaries

Regional chambers of notaries are composed of notaries running an office in the constituency of courts of appeal. Polish notaries are associated within 11 regional chambers of notaries located in cities in which courts of appeal are seated: in Białystok, Gdańsk, Katowice, Kraków, Lublin, Łódź, Poznań, Rzeszów, Szczecin, Warszawa and Wrocław. Bodies of regional chambers are general meetings of notaries as well as councils.

It is within the competence of the councils of chamber of notaries to:

  • advise on the appointment and removal of notaries;
  • monitor the fulfilment by the notaries, substitute notaries and trainee notaries of their obligations and ensure that they respect the authority and the dignity of the notarial function;
  • monitor the subscription of the mandatory insurance referred to in art. 19a;
  • organize the training of trainee notaries;
  • manage the assets of the chamber and its disposal;
  • convene the general assemblies of the notaries of the chamber and execute the resolutions of the latter;
  • keep the records of notaries, substitute notaries and trainee-notaries of the chamber;
  • perform other duties provided by law.